Drivers and Perpetual Trophy Confirmed for FF Bathurst Return

A healthy field and a trophy commemorating the efforts of a long-time Formula Ford supporter have been finalised for the Factory Enterprises Historic Formula Ford races at the famous Mount Panorama circuit at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour, 30 March-1 April.

The 32 participants in the weekend’s three races will compete for the inaugural Margaret Hardy Perpetual Trophy, created to celebrate the selfless dedication to Formula Ford from former national series category manager Margaret Hardy over many years.

It will be the first time Historic Formula Ford, now into its 49th season in Australia, has raced at Bathurst on its own, and this year’s race meeting is a celebration of the hard work of the Historic Formula Ford Australia Inc. which promotes three classes: Fa (pre-1978), Fb (1978-’83) and Fc (1984-’89).

Among the field are an assortment of well-known drivers; at the more senior end of the spectrum are Richard Davison (son of Lex, father of Will and Alex) and former Formula 1 engineer Malcolm Oastler, who will race the Reynard he designed in the 1980s.

At the younger end of the scale, 2015 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Champion Cameron Walters and former Supercars Development Series and Formula 3 racer Tom Tweedie will be among the front-runners, along with former Radical Australia Cup Champion Tim Berryman and Andrew McInnes.

Several drivers are travelling from overseas to participate in the event, including New Zealanders Wayne Colville, Stephen Heffernan and Henry Thomas-Kircher, along with British drivers James Harvey (McLaren engineer) and Oliver White, who will race for the Davison’s Team Ecurie Australie outfit.

Series organisers also confirmed a rich pool of sponsors for the event, highlighted by naming-rights sponsor Factory Enterprises, owned by the long-time Formula Ford supporting Mulhearn family.


Also supporting the event with a mixture of financial contributions, product and competitor prizes will be:

Avon Tyres

Ferodo Brakes

AVO Australia

Greig and Greig Design and Construction

Elliott and Co

Car Search 2000

HSRCA (Historic Sports and Racing Car Association)

Shiners Car Wash Systems

Davies Craig Auto Cooling

Stand 21 Racing Apparel

Lynx Corporation – automotive aftermarket products

Unifilter – air filters


Factory Enterprises Historic Formula Ford – Entry List

  1. Andrew McInnes – Mitch Dowd Van Diemen RF89
  2. Tom Tweedie – Van Diemen RF86
  3. John Greig – Ecurie Australie Reynard FF82
  4. Richard Davison – Ecurie Australie Van Diemen RF89
  5. Cameron Walters – Walters Racing Van Diemen RF86
  6. Scott Blake – Reynard 1984
  7. Sean Sorensen – Van Diemen RF86
  8. Wayne Colville – Walters Racing Elwyn 003/1
  9. Stephen Heffernan – Walters Racing Elwyn 003/5
  10. Geoff Walters – Walters Racing Van Diemen RF89
  11. Steve Willing – Redstar Motorsport Swift FB89
  12. David Grant – Reynard 1988
  13. Tim Berryman – Van Diemen RF89
  14. Lyndon Arnel – Lola T440
  15. Norm Vesty – Wholesale Suspension Zink Z10
  16. Claire Greig – Ecurie Australie Reynard FF84
  17. Todd Willing – JSAS Car to be confirmed
  18. Garry Watson – Midcoast Windows Mawer
  19. Jacob Bonisch – Ecurie Crossle Crossle 32F
  20. Keith Uebel – Van Diemen VD82
  21. Andrew Nethercote – Norwood Car Care Reynard 87F
  22. John Dean – Cooldrive Van Diemen RF88
  23. Shane Nichols – Motorsport Connections Van Diemen RF87
  24. James Harvey – Ecurie Australie Van Diemen RF88
  25. Malcolm Oastler – Ecurie Australie Reynard FF88
  26. William Vesty – Zink Z10
  27. Ewan Geals – Scuderia Lillico Lola T644
  28. Jeremy Shelton – Van Diemen RF86
  29. Peter Grant – Reynard
  30. John Pymble – Reynard
  31. Henry Thomas-Kircher – Ray 87
  32. Oliver White – Ecurie Australie Reynard FF88

Factory Enterprises Historic Formula Ford – Event Schedule

Friday, 30 March

10:35 – Practice (20 min)

15:40 – Qualifying (20 min)

Saturday, 31 March

10:50 – Race 1 (6 laps)

15:40 – Race 2 (6 laps)

Sunday, 1 April

7:55 – Race 3 (6 laps)