Excel Racing National Series Joins 2023 Hi-Tec Oils Super Series Program

For the first time, owners of popular Hyundai Excel race cars will have the opportunity to compete in a multi-round national competition, which will run as part of the Hi-Tec Oils Super Series in 2023.

Over the last decade, Excel racing has exploded in popularity in Australia, with very strong championships in each state.

The Excel Racing National Series aims to bring together the top Excel drivers from all over the country, in a three-round series that will commence at Queensland Raceway, travel to Sydney Motorsport Park and conclude at Calder Park.

It will be managed by experienced motorsport operative Brett Peters, who oversees the Queensland-based Track Attack Australia Excel Cup. Peters said the creation of a national series is very exciting for the Excel racing community.

“Excel racing is thriving all over Australia – obviously all the state series are very successful, and there have been single-event Excel Nationals held each year, but this is the first time there will be a national series with more than one round,” Peters said.

“It’s a great opportunity for Excel racers to compete on the Hi-Tec Oils Super Series platform and enjoy the benefits of TV exposure.

“We’ll work closely with the state Excel clubs to ensure we complement their activities. We’re conscious about not detracting from the state-based series.”

BAC General Manager Stephen Whyte is expecting the Excel Racing National Series to be hotly contested.

“The quality of drivers at the front of all the state Excel championships is impressive, so when they all come together in the National Series, the races will be hard-fought,” Whyte said.

“From an entertainment perspective, we’re expecting the Excel Racing National Series to be a crowd favourite, with close contests, door-to-door racing and lots of overtaking.”

Expressions of interest for the 2023 Excel Racing National Series will open early in the new year via the Track Attack Australia Facebook page.

2023 Excel Racing National Series Calendar

Round 1 – Queensland Raceway, June 2-4

Round 2 – Sydney Motorsport Park, October 13-14 (Day/Night Event)

Round 3 – Calder Park Raceway, November 24-26