White Completes Bathurst Historic Formula Ford Clean Sweep

Oliver White has completed a clean-sweep of the Factory Enterprises Historic Formula Ford races at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour, holding out Richard Davison and Tom Tweedie in yesterday morning’s final race of the weekend.

White took the early lead, with Davison and Tweedie becoming involved in a spirited dice for second position which featured plenty of slipstreaming and a couple of spectacular late braking moves.

The race unfortunately finished under Safety Car conditions after another driver, James Harvey, crashed spectacularly at the top of the Mountain.

The results across the three races saw White clinching the overall round win ahead of Tweedie and Davison.

“To come out from England, race on one of the world’s most famous race tracks and come away with three race wins is just a dream result,” White said.

“A big thank you to Chris Davison and the Ecurie Australie team for giving me the opportunity to race their car this weekend, the car ran faultlessly.”

Johnny Greig completed a Class Fb clean sweep with another race win to take the round honours ahead of his wife Claire Grieg, and New Zealander Stephen Heffernan, who drove the Geoff Walters-owned Elwyn.

Garry Watson continued his domination of Class Fa with another outright top-five result in Race 3, clinching the round win from Jacob Bonisch and Norm Vesty.

The best-presented award was claimed by David Grant in his ex-Jason Bargwanna Reynard, while Bill Vesty received the “biggest stuff-up” award after suffering two engine failures.

The most improved trophy was presented to Claire Greig, who improved her lap times by a whopping 16 seconds over the course of the event.

The Paul Mulhearn Snr Perpetual Trophy for outstanding service for Formula Ford was awarded to Don Holland, while Bill and Norm Vesty received the inaugural Margaret Hardy Perpetual Trophy for going above and beyond the call of duty in their contribution to the category.

The Historic Formula Ford Association would like to thank Factory Enterprises for their naming-rights sponsorship of the event, along with:

Avon Tyres

Ferodo Brakes

AVO Australia

Greig and Greig Design and Construction

Elliott and Co

Car Search 2000


HSRCA (Historic Sports and Racing Car Association)

Shiners Car Wash Systems

Davies Craig Auto Cooling

Stand 21 Racing Apparel

Lynx Corporation – automotive aftermarket products

Unifilter – air filters